Shane Lowry’s return to Royal Portrush for the 2025 Open Championship had been going relatively well, until a moment on the Par-5 12th hole turned an already difficult round into a potential rules nightmare. The Irishman, who famously won his first major at this very course in 2019, was sitting at 1-under-par and in a tie for 25th place when things took a turn for the worse.

Playing from the left side of the fairway in one of Royal Portrush’s punishing rough areas, Lowry prepared to lay up after an errant tee shot. The conditions weren’t ideal, thick grass, a difficult slope, and moisture from earlier rain made the lie especially tricky. Ahead of the round, Lowry was priced at 30/1 to win outright at several non GamStop betting sites, where fans could back the former champion with generous odds, fast payouts, and access to a variety of in-play golf markets. His familiarity with the course and proven record had made him a popular dark horse pick among punters looking for value.

Playing from the left side of the fairway in one of Royal Portrush’s punishing rough areas, Lowry prepared to lay up after an errant tee shot. The conditions weren’t ideal, thick grass, a difficult slope, and moisture from earlier rain made the lie challenging. During his preparation, cameras captured a moment that quickly drew attention: as Lowry took a practice swing near his ball, it appeared to shift slightly in the grass.

The broadcast team immediately picked up on the possible infraction and sought clarity from a rules official representing the R&A, which governs The Open Championship.

The official acknowledged that the incident was under review, as the footage strongly suggested that Lowry’s swing in the surrounding grass may have caused the ball to move, an issue that could result in a penalty under the current rules of golf.

Compounding the situation, Lowry didn’t seem to notice the ball’s movement and continued to play out the hole without pausing. He eventually made par, but if the ball did in fact move and he failed to return it to its original position before playing his shot, that would carry significant consequences.

According to the rules set by the USGA and R&A, if a player causes their ball to move and then proceeds to hit it without repositioning it, a two-stroke penalty is applied.

Had Lowry realized the movement and corrected it by replacing the ball, only a single stroke would have been assessed. Unfortunately, his apparent lack of awareness now puts him at risk of the steeper penalty.

This situation becomes even more pressing considering Lowry’s score relative to the cut line. At 1-under, he was sitting three shots ahead of the projected cut, which hovered around +2. A two-stroke addition to his score would bring him to 1-over, uncomfortably close to the line and at risk of falling outside the qualifying threshold for the weekend rounds.

What had seemed like a relatively safe position could quickly turn into a nervy wait, depending on how officials interpret the footage and whether the penalty is ultimately enforced.

Adding to Lowry’s frustrating day, the weather didn’t do him any favors. The heavy rain and gusty winds kicked in just as he was teeing off earlier in the round, adding difficulty to an already demanding course.

His struggles weren’t just limited to the 12th hole either; on the previous hole, he badly hooked his drive left and was audibly irritated on the tee box, something a nearby microphone happened to catch.

Now, with the incident under official review, the potential two-stroke penalty hangs over Lowry’s round.

It’s an unfortunate situation that might cost him a spot in the final two rounds of the championship if the ruling doesn’t go his way.

With so much at stake and his score teetering on the edge of the cut line, all eyes will be on the R&A’s decision and whether or not Lowry’s ball movement, unintentional as it may have been, ultimately alters his fate at Royal Portrush.

 

Read the full article here

Share.
Leave A Reply

Exit mobile version